Please enable javascript to access the full functionality of this site

ASPI Masterclass: The US-Australia Alliance in a more contested Asia - Thales

ASPI Masterclass: The US-Australia alliance in a more contested Asia

Speakers Peter Jennings, H.E. The Honourable Arthur Sinodinos AO , Dr Paul Wolfowitz, Bonnie Glaser, Carolyn Bartholomew, Dr Charles Edel, Professor Caitlin Byrne, Professor Gordon Flake, Samantha Hoffman, Dr Mark Harrison, Professor Tanya Monro, Major General Kathryn Toohey, AM, CSC, Michael Shoebridge, Katherine Mansted, Jacob Wallis, Lisa Sharland and Anastasia Kapetas

The ASPI Masterclass: ‘The US-Australia alliance in a more contested Asia’ is a one-day intensive event that will give participants a strategic overview of the alliance and the shared challenges and opportunities for increased cooperation.

This Masterclass will explore options for expanding alliance cooperation beyond traditional security domains into areas such as secure supply chains, critical technology and sovereign industry capabilities. The event will consider US domestic dynamics, US-China strategic competition, regional flashpoints, disinformation and engagement in the multilateral system. 

The ASPI Masterclass: ‘The US-Australia alliance in a more contested Asia is the first instalment of ASPI’s Sovereign Priorities series 2021 which will assess the tensions, trends and challenges that dominate the environment Australia operates in. The series will conclude with ASPI’s international conference ‘Shape, Deter, Respond: Implementing the 2020 Defence Strategic Update’ on 10-11 June.

Speakers include:

  • Peter Jennings, Executive Director, Australian Strategic Policy Institute
  • H.E. The Honourable Arthur Sinodinos AO, Australia's Ambassador to the United States
  • Dr Paul Wolfowitz, Visiting Scholar, American Enterprise Institute
  • Bonnie Glaser, Director, Asia Program, German Marshall Fund
  • Carolyn Bartholomew, Chairman, US-China Economic and Security Review Commission
  • Dr Charles Edel, Global Fellow, the Wilson Center
  • Will GlasgowChina correspondent, The Australian
  • Professor Caitlin Byrne, Director, Griffith Asia Institute
  • Professor Gordon Flake, Chief Executive Officer, Perth USAsia Centre
  • Dr Samantha Hoffman, Senior Analyst, Australian Strategic Policy Institute
  • Dr Mark Harrison, Senior Lecturer in Chinese Studies, University of Tasmania
  • Professor Tanya MonroChief Defence Scientist, Defence Science and Technology Group 
  • Major General Kathryn Toohey, Head Force Integration, Department of Defence 
  • Michael Shoebridge, Director – Defence, Strategy and National Security, Australian Strategic Policy Institute
  • Katherine Mansted, Senior Adviser Public Policy, ANU National Security College
  • Dr Jacob Wallis, Senior Analyst, International Cyber Policy Centre, Australian Strategic Policy Institute
  • Lisa Sharland, Deputy Director, Defence, Strategy and National Security, Australian Strategic Policy Institute
  • Anastasia Kapetas, National Security Editor: The Strategist, Australian Strategic Policy Institute 

Additional speakers to be confirmed.

Please Note: This is a physical face-to-face event, we can not offer virtual attendance unfortunately.

Sponsored by:

Thales logo



Peter Jennings

Peter Jennings is a Senior Fellow and was the executive director of the Australian Strategic Policy Institute (ASPI) from May 2012 to May 2022.

H.E. The Honourable Arthur Sinodinos AO

The Hon. Arthur Sinodinos AO is Australia’s Ambassador to the United States of America, taking up his posting in Washington in February 2020.

Dr Paul Wolfowitz

Dr Paul Wolfowitz is a visiting scholar at the American Enterprise Institute (AEI) where he works on development and national security issues.

Bonnie Glaser

Bonnie S. Glaser is director of the Asia Program at the German Marshall Fund of the United States.

Carolyn Bartholomew

Carolyn Bartholomew is Chairman of the U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission.

Dr Charles Edel

Dr Charles Edel is a Global Fellow at the Wilson Center and a Senior Fellow at the United States Studies Centre.

Professor Caitlin Byrne

Professor Caitlin Byrne is the Director of the Griffith Asia Institute.

Professor Gordon Flake

Professor Gordon Flake is the founding Chief Executive Officer of the Perth USAsia Centre at The University of Western Australia.

Samantha Hoffman

Dr Samantha Hoffman is a Senior Analyst at ASPI. Her work explores the domestic and global implications of the Chinese Communist Party’s approach to state security.

Dr Mark Harrison

Dr Mark Harrison is a Senior Lecturer in Chinese Studies at the University of Tasmania in the Politics and International Relations Program in the School of Social Sciences. 

Professor Tanya Monro

Professor Tanya Monro commenced as Chief Defence Scientist in March 2019.

Major General Kathryn Toohey, AM, CSC

In June 2019 Major General Toohey was appointed Head Force Integration, within the Vice Chief of Defence Force Executive.

Michael Shoebridge

Michael Shoebridge is the Director of ASPI’s Defence, Strategy and National Security program.

Katherine Mansted

Katherine Mansted is senior adviser for public policy at the Australian National University’s National Security College.

Jacob Wallis

Dr Jake Wallis is the Head of Program, Information Operations and Disinformation with ASPI's International Cyber Policy Centre.

Lisa Sharland

Lisa Sharland is an Adjunct Senior Fellow at the Stimson Center with the Protecting the Civilians in Conflict Program.

Anastasia Kapetas

Anastasia is the National Security Editor at The Strategist.